Credit Valley Conservation appoints 2020 Chair and Vice-Chair

Mississauga Councillor Karen Ras was acclaimed as chair of Credit Valley Conservation (CVC) at the inaugural 2020 board meeting on Friday, January 17, 2020. The election marks Ras’s second term as chair and her sixth year of service on the CVC Board of Directors.

“I’m honoured to be acclaimed as chair of Credit Valley Conservation,” said Councillor Ras. “These are important times for Ontario conservation authorities. We have a new Conservation Authorities Act with pending regulations. We’re continuing to support municipalities and neighbours with services like flood warning and greening communities to mitigate and adapt to climate change.

“We’re proud to work with our partners in government and across the watershed to lead protection, restoration and enhancement of our local natural environment.”

The CVC Board of Directors also acclaimed Town of Oakville Councillor Tom Adams as vice-chair. Adams has served on the CVC board since 2011 and previously served as vice-chair in 2013 and 2019.

The CVC board consists of 12 members from watershed municipalities, all of whom were also reappointed to the Credit Valley Source Protection Authority:

  • Karen Ras, Ward 2, City of Mississauga and Region of Peel Councillor
  • Tom Adams, Ward 6, Town of Oakville and Region of Halton Councillor
  • Martin Medeiros, Wards 3 and 4, City of Brampton and Region of Peel Councillor
  • Michael Palleschi, Wards 2 and 6, City of Brampton and Region of Peel Councillor
  • Ron Starr, Ward 6, City of Mississauga and Region of Peel Councillor
  • Stephen Dasko, Ward 1, City of Mississauga and Region of Peel Councillor
  • Matt Mahoney, Ward 8, City of Mississauga and Region of Peel Councillor
  • Johanna Downey, Ward 2, Town of Caledon and Region of Peel Councillor
  • Ann Lawlor, Ward 4 Councillor, Town of Halton Hills
  • John Brennan, Councillor, Town of Erin
  • Grant Peters, Councillor, Town of Orangeville
  • Tom Nevills, Councillor, Township of East Garafraxa

CVC is accountable through its Board of Directors to the municipalities and residents in the Credit River Watershed. The board approves and guides CVC policies, programs, services and sets its annual budget.


Karen Ras, CVC Chair and Mississauga Councillor

Tom Adams, CVC Vice-Chair and Town of Oakville Councillor

CVC Board of Directors with CVC’s CAO
Back Row (left to right): 
Matt Mahoney, City of Mississauga; Johanna Downey, Town of Caledon; Micheal Palleschi, City of Brampton; Deborah Martin-Downs, Chief Administrative Officer; Grant Peters, Town of Orangeville, Tom Nevills, Township of East Garafraxa, Ann Lawlor, Town of Halton Hills
Front Row (left to right): Stephen Dasko, City of Mississauga; Tom Adams, Town of Oakville; Karen Ras, City of Mississauga; Martin Medeiros, City of Brampton; Ron Starr, City of Mississauga.
Absent: John Brennan, Town of Erin

Credit Valley Conservation (CVC) is a local conservation authority established by the Ontario government in 1954 to protect, restore and enhance the natural environment of the Credit River Watershed. Our watershed is defined by the area of land where all rainfall, snowmelt and runoff drain into lands and waters flowing into the Credit River. CVC creates connections between people and nature, knowledge and action. We inspire a deep appreciation for the role of nature in keeping people connected, healthy and happy. CVC is a member of Conservation Ontario.


Media Contact
Maureen Pogue
Sr Manager, Marketing and Communications
Credit Valley Conservation
905-670-1615 ext. 242
[email protected]

Scroll to Top