Community Leaders Honoured through Environmental Awards Program

Credit Valley Conservation (CVC) took a creative approach this week to recognize the latest recipients of their Friends of the Credit Conservation Awards. Staff personally delivered the prestigious awards through a physically distanced curbside drop-off. The Conservation Awards program recognizes partners and community members inspired by nature to do important environmental work in the Credit River Watershed. The celebration was originally scheduled for March 2020 but cancelled due to Covid-19 restrictions.

“On behalf of the Board of Directors and CVC staff, I’m thrilled to congratulate our award recipients for their outstanding work, leadership and commitment to environmental excellence,” said Councillor Karen Ras, CVC Chair and Councillor for Mississauga Ward 2. “Each of these important actions  is making a difference for the health and well-being of communities in the Credit River Watershed.”

CVC recognized conservation efforts in eight award categories including: Youth Achievement, Outstanding Volunteer, Environmental Awareness, Landowner Stewardship, Corporate Leadership, Green Cities, Watershed Excellence and Legacy Donor.

The Conservation Awards program began in 1986. Awards are presented by CVC’s Board of Directors to honour those who demonstrate the organization’s core values of leadership, collaboration, innovation and integrity through environmental practices. Since the program began, CVC has recognized approximately 367 community leaders for work that connects people to nature, knowledge to action and inspires a deep appreciation for the local environment.

The latest Friends of the Credit Conservation Award winners include:

Youth Achievement Award – Deon Singh
Outstanding Volunteer Award – Janice McClelland
Environmental Awareness Award – Michael Sklad
Landowner Stewardship Award – Sarah Mailhot
Corporate Leadership Award – Global Investment Bank and Financial Services (Citi), and Four X Development (DG Group), Beacon Environmental, Rand Engineering Corporation, NAK Design Group & ConDrain Group
Green Cities Award – Tara Day-Orzechowski, Adam Tompkins and Michael Hoy
Watershed Excellence Award – Gavin Dandy
Legacy Donor Award – TPC Toronto at Osprey Valley and Humeniuk Foundation, and Takla Foundation

Additional award nominees included:

Lukasz Padiasek
Tomasz Padiasek
Aaron Bolzon
Krystle Shaw
Bethell Hospice Landscape Committee
Jonathan Harris
Alan McBride
Elaine Smyth
Jessica Skup
Port Credit Business Improvement Area
Prabhjot Kainth
Cathy Aylard
Ellen Thomson
Jean Compton and Michael Brady
Behnam Doulatryari, Halton Region and Keith Hamilton, Town of Halton Hills
Region of Peel, Infrastructure Programming and Studies Division
TD Bank
Canon Canada Inc.
Taylor Davis
Janet Kuzniar
Nicky Hall

Photo: Watershed Excellence Award presented to Gavin Dandy
Caption: Gavin received his award for his ongoing commitment to environmental initiatives as a farmer, educator and co-founder of Everdale – a community teaching farm.

About Credit Valley Conservation (CVC)
Credit Valley Conservation (CVC) is a local conservation authority established by the Ontario government in 1954 to protect, restore and enhance the natural environment of the Credit River watershed. That watershed is the area of land where all rainfall, snowmelt and runoff drains into lands and waters flowing into the Credit River. CVC creates connections between people and nature, knowledge and action. It inspires a deep appreciation for the role of nature in keeping people connected, healthy and happy. CVC is a member of Conservation Ontario.


Media Contact
Jamie Williams
Marketing & Communications Specialist
Credit Valley Conservation
[email protected]

Scroll to Top