Credit Valley Conservation’s (CVC) Frontline program was honoured with a youth achievement award at the annual Lieutenant Governor Ontario Heritage Awards, presented by Ontario Heritage Trust at Queen’s Park on February 26, 2016. The award recognizes exceptional contributions to conserve Ontario’s cultural and natural heritage.

The 2015 Frontline program was recognized for its contributions to engage local youth in the Credit River watershed and cultivate environmental leaders. The program teaches high school students about local environmental issues, helps train students to deliver messaging to peers and inspires youth to take action.

“We were so proud to see our Frontline program members honoured with the youth achievement award,” said Deborah Martin-Downs, CAO of Credit Valley Conservation. “These students are the environmental leaders of tomorrow. The more opportunity youth have to learn and get involved in the fight against climate change, the more prepared we will be to restore and protect our resources for future generations.”

Last year, CVC’s Frontline program trained over 25 high school participants to deliver workshops about conservation issues, fish, fish habitat and water quality. Members contributed almost 430 volunteer hours to the program through more than 13 workshops and educating over 280 watershed residents.

Youth leaders connected with local students and shared environmental messages with the goal of inspiring greater action in the local community. Messages promoted simple tasks such as water conservation tips and encouraged participation in tree plantings or litter clean-ups.

Accepting the award on behalf of CVC were members of the Frontline Steering Committee: Amisha Yadav and Nishitha Shashidar from Turner Fenton Secondary School in Brampton, Aaron D’Cruz from John Faser Secondary School in Mississauga and Fabian Fletcher from Fletcher’s Meadow Secondary School in Mississauga.

The Lieutenant Governor Ontario Heritage Awards are administered by the Ontario Heritage Trust and recognize exceptional contributions to heritage conservation, environmental sustainability and biodiversity and cultural and natural heritage.  The awards are given annually in four categories: youth achievement, lifetime achievement, community leadership and excellence in conservation.

Conservation authorities are a provincial/ municipal partnership. For 60 years, Credit Valley Conservation (CVC) has worked with its partners, municipalities and stakeholders to support a thriving environment that protects, connects and sustains us. CVC gratefully acknowledges financial support from our member municipalities for facilities, programs and services: the Regions of Halton and Peel; the Cities of Mississauga and Brampton; the Towns of Caledon, Erin, Halton Hills, Mono, Oakville and Orangeville; and the Townships of Amaranth and East Garafraxa. CVC is a member of Conservation Ontario.



Photo credits: courtesy of the Ontario Heritage Trust, photo by Ian Crysler

Caption: Accepting the award on behalf of CVC’s Frontline program, left to right: Professor Thomas H.B. Symons (Chairman of Ontario Heritage Trust),  Amisha Yadav, Nishitha Shashidar, Aaron D’Cruz, Fabian Fletcher (all Frontline Steering Committee Members), Adam Wilford (Assistant Program Coordinator, Community Outreach and CYC), Lieutenant Governor Elizabeth Dowdeswell

Media Contact
Jamie Williams
Marketing & Communications Specialist
Credit Valley Conservation
905-670-1615 ext. 285
[email protected]

Scroll to Top