Friday, April 1, 2016 – Credit Valley Conservation (CVC) honoured local community members at its annual Friends of the Credit Conservation Awards, held last night at BraeBen Golf and Country Club in Mississauga. Over 80 guests and representatives from CVC’s Board of Directors attended this year’s ceremony.

“It’s a privilege each year to host these awards,” said Mike Puddister, Deputy CAO and Director of Watershed Transformation for CVC. “We get to honour people who live or work in our communities and who are making a difference every day through their leadership and desire to protect our environment. Without supporters such as these awards recipients, we could not meet our goal of helping to maintain a healthy river.”

For 30 years, CVC has recognized individuals, landowners, community groups, small businesses, corporations, municipalities and agencies in the watershed who have made a positive contribution to the health of the Credit River, the local community and the surrounding land.

These awards are an opportunity for CVC’s Board of Directors to recognize important environmental work. Awards were presented to 23 recipients in the following five categories:

Award of Merit Winners:

Jeanne McRight
Recognizing advocacy for boulevard gardens and raising awareness of their ecological importance

Stella Ambler
Recognizing long-term dedication in securing funding for Rattray Marsh restoration work to improve the local ecosystem for future generations

Derek Spencer
Recognizing personal dedication to complete the Vicki Barron Lakeside Trail and improve visitor experience at Island Lake Conservation Area

Judith Harris
Recognizing dedication to the Native Plant Propagation program and leadership to educate the public about the importance of restoring native plant populations

Anne Paquin
Recognizing long-term dedication to the health of the environment through education and student engagement in ecological projects

Linda McLaren
Recognizing dedication to environmental awareness through public education and appreciation of the headwaters region through leadership in the Upper Credit Field Naturalist Club

Sean Stuckless
Recognizing personal commitment to improve the Native Plant Propagation program and develop an electronic newsletter that will increase the program’s success

Kenollie Public School
Recognizing innovation and leadership for creating an outdoor classroom that builds environmental appreciation and participation opportunities for students

Muslim Welfare Centre
Recognizing efforts to provide experiences that foster environmental appreciation, engage members in environmental activities and provide experiences that foster environmental appreciation

Bringing Back the Brookies
Recognizing collaboration to restore brook trout habitat in the Upper Credit Conservation Area and promote the importance of cold water fish populations

Region of Peel Integrated Planning Department
Recognizing leadership in adopting climate change models at a regional level to support resilient communities for future generations

City of Mississauga Transportation and Works Department
Recognizing innovation in incorporating green infrastructure within regional road right-of-ways to mitigate the impacts of climate change

One Water Group
Recognizing collaborative research that supports an integrated and holistic approach in managing water systems.

 Conservation Award of Distinction Winners:

Howard Hall
Recognizing long-term commitment to improve the natural environment, promote ethical land stewardship and educate volunteers at the Riverwood Conservancy

Dufferin Northern Peel Anglers and Hunters Association (DNPAHA)
Recognizing long-term dedication to promote environmental appreciation, practice ethical natural resource management and provide opportunities for the public to experience nature

Michael’s Hair Body Mind
Recognizing exceptional leadership in fundraising efforts to restore the urban canopy in Mississauga and staff engagement in the ongoing restoration of Rattray Marsh

Young Conservationist Winner:

Peel Environmental Youth Alliance (PEYA)
Recognizing 10 years of support and efforts to build youth environmental leadership in Peel Region

Qurat Dar
Recognizing volunteer efforts to instill a sense of environmental leadership and appreciation among youth that contribute to a healthier environment

Rana Al-Fayez
Recognizing personal commitment to improve environmental awareness among youth and ongoing support to organize stewardship events at Creditview Wetland

The Peace Welcome Club
Recognizing volunteer efforts to promote opportunities for youth participation in environmental initiatives and support a sustainable environment

Conservation Award of Excellence Winners:

The Friends of Island Lake (FOIL)
Recognizing outstanding leadership and achievement in fundraising, community engagement, trail construction and promotion of the Vicki Barron Lakeside Trail at Island Lake Conservation Area

Watershed Legacy Donors:

Shane Baghai
Recognizing the donation of ecologically significant land that supports the protection of a provincially significant wetland

Walter and Lee Bacon
Recognizing the donation of ecologically significant land that supports the protection of the provincially significant Caledon Lake Wetland complex and Caledon Lake Forest Conservation Area                                                                                                                                           

Conservation authorities are a provincial/municipal partnership. For 60 years, Credit Valley Conservation has worked with its partners to support a thriving environment that protects, connects and sustains us. Credit Valley Conservation gratefully acknowledges financial support from our member municipalities for facilities, programs and services: the Regions of Peel and Halton; the Cities of Mississauga and Brampton; the Towns of Caledon, Erin, Halton Hills, Mono, Oakville and Orangeville; and the Townships of Amaranth and East Garafraxa. CVC is a member of Conservation Ontario.


Media Contact:
Jamie Williams
Marketing and Communications Specialist
Credit Valley Conservation
905-670-1615 ext. 285
[email protected]

Scroll to Top