Friday, March 27, 2015 – Credit Valley Conservation (CVC) honoured community members at its annual Friends of the Credit Conservation Awards last night at BraeBen Golf and Country Club in Mississauga. Over 70 guests were in attendance, including representatives from CVC’s Board of Directors.

“It’s a privilege to celebrate the remarkable achievements of our community members,” said Deborah Martin-Downs, CVC’s Chief Administrative Officer. “We honour people whose leadership and commitment to the environment improves our health and quality of life.”

Since 1986, CVC has recognized individuals, landowners, community groups, small businesses, corporations, municipalities and agencies in the watershed that have made a positive contribution to the health of the Credit River, the local community and the surrounding land.

CVC’s Board of Directors presented awards to 22 recipients in the following four categories:

Certificate of Merit:

Alpha Phi Omega Mississauga Alumni Association
Recognizing strong participation in volunteer tree planting events which improve the health of the Credit River watershed

City of Mississauga Council
Recognizing municipal leadership in low impact development

Don and Karen McClellan
Recognizing leadership in environmental farm stewardship and water quality protection

Eric and Gillian Mileham
Recognizing efforts to implement low impact development on their property and support water conservation in their community

Freeman Associates -Tracy Patterson
Recognizing leadership and commitment in the promotion of low impact development techniques in partnership with Credit Valley Conservation

Hewlett Packard (HP)
Recognizing corporate leadership and employee engagement in projects that improve the ecology of their property and increase environmental awareness

India Rainbow Community Services of Peel
Recognizing commitment to share knowledge of the Credit River watershed and its ecological importance with new Canadians

Margy de Gruchy
Recognizing significant contributions to the Riverwood Stewardship Committee, Native Plant Propagation Program, and efforts to restore and protect Riverwood and Rattray Marsh

Richard and Jami Cook
Recognizing efforts to implement low impact development on their property and support water conservation in their community

Shane and Marnie Baghai
Recognizing leadership in environmental farm stewardship and commitment to sustainable agricultural production

Streetsville School Environmental Club
Recognizing ongoing commitment to increase environmental awareness among youth and to improve the Credit River watershed through tree planting and stewardship projects

The Co-operators General Insurance Company
Recognizing long-term dedication to improve the health of the Credit River watershed and improving environmental awareness among employees

Upper Credit Field Naturalists Club
Recognizing long-term commitment to provide opportunities for nature enthusiasts and the public that increase environmental awareness and support conservation in the headwaters

Conservation Award of Distinction:

1st Erindale Scout Group
Recognizing long-term commitment to improve the health of the Credit River watershed through stewardship of parks and natural areas in the Erindale community

John Nemeth and Alex Sales, Region of Peel
Recognizing dedication to increase the use of green infrastructure within regional roads

Rosemary Keenan
Recognizing ongoing dedication to advocate for environmental protection, influence decision makers, and strengthen environmental awareness throughout the Credit River watershed

Alton Public School
Recognizing significant contributions to improve water quality in the headwaters, provide opportunities for students to participate in low impact development practices, and incorporate sustainability into class curriculum

Geoff and Shanna Maltby
Recognizing commitment to practice sustainable agriculture in support and recovery of threatened grassland birds through participation in Credit Valley Conservation’s new Bird-Friendly Certified Hay Program

City of Mississauga Corporate Services Department, Facilities and Property Management
Recognizing municipal leadership and commitment to sustainable development that creates a healthier watershed

Young Conservationist:

Volunteering Peel
Recognizing leadership to connect youth, increase environmental awareness, and promote on-the-ground activities to improve the environment

Justin Bateman
Recognizing leadership to improve the restoration efforts at Riverwood and dedication to the Native Plant Propagation Program

Conservation Award of Excellence:

Marolyn Morrison
Recognizing long-term dedication and exceptional leadership with the Credit Valley Conservation Foundation resulting in significant support for projects that benefit the Credit River watershed


Conservation authorities are a provincial/municipal partnership. For 60 years, Credit Valley Conservation has worked with its partners to support a thriving environment that protects, connects and sustains us. Credit Valley Conservation gratefully acknowledges financial support from our member municipalities for facilities, programs and services: the Regions of Peel and Halton; the Cities of Mississauga and Brampton; the Towns of Caledon, Erin, Halton Hills, Mono, Oakville and Orangeville; and the Townships of Amaranth and East Garafraxa. CVC is a member of Conservation Ontario.

Media Contact
Jamie Williams
Marketing and Communications Specialist
Credit Valley Conservation
905-670-1615 ext. 285
[email protected]

Scroll to Top