Councillor Karen Ras elected Chair of CVC Board of Directors

Mississauga Councillor Karen Ras was elected as chair of Credit Valley Conservation (CVC) at the inaugural 2019 board meeting held Friday, January 18. The election marks Ras’s first term as chair and her fifth year of service on CVC’s Board of Directors. The CVC board consists of 12 members represented by councillors from member municipalities within the Credit River Watershed.

“I’m honoured to be elected as chair of Credit Valley Conservation,” said Councillor Ras. “I look forward to working with my colleagues, our dedicated staff, partners, neighbours and businesses in the watershed. Together, we’ll continue to work hard to protect, restore and enhance nature in our local communities.”

Chair Ras has served as Mississauga councillor since 2014 and as member of the Credit Valley Conservation Foundation (CVCF) Board since 2011. During her time on the CVCF Board, Ras has served as chair and vice-chair.

Prior to the 2014 municipal election, Ras was the director of corporate relations for Enersource Corporation, past chair of the Mississauga Board of Trade and worked in the Ontario government in a variety of roles including media spokesperson and advisor to a number of ministers in the Ministries of Municipal Affairs & Housing, Environment, Management Board, Ontario Realty Corporation, Women’s Issues, Seniors Issues and Citizenship & Immigration.

The CVC Board of Directors also elected Town of Oakville Councillor Tom Adams as vice-chair. Adams has served on the CVC board since 2011 and previously served as vice-chair in 2013.

This year’s Board of Directors includes new and returning councillors from municipal councils throughout the watershed:

  • Martin Medeiros, City of Brampton
  • Michael Palleschi, City of Brampton
  • Ron Starr, City of Mississauga
  • Stephen Dasko, City of Mississauga
  • Matt Mahoney, City of Mississauga
  • Johanna Downey, Town of Caledon
  • Ann Lawlor, Town of Halton Hills
  • John Brennan, Town of Erin
  • Grant Peters, Town of Orangeville
  • Tom Nevills, Township of East Garafraxa

CVC is accountable through its Board of Directors to the municipalities and residents in the Credit River Watershed. The board approves and guides CVC policies, programs, projects and sets its annual budget.

Credit Valley Conservation (CVC) is a local conservation authority established by the Ontario government in 1954 to protect, restore and enhance the natural environment of the Credit River Watershed. That watershed is the area of land defined by where all rainfall, snowmelt and runoff drains into lands and waters flowing into the Credit River. CVC creates connections between people and nature, knowledge and action. It inspires a deep appreciation for the role of nature in keeping people connected, healthy and happy. CVC is a member of Conservation Ontario.


Photo: Karen Ras, CVC Chair and Mississauga Councillor

Photo: Tom Adams, CVC Vice-Chair and Town of Oakville Councillor

Photo: CVC Board of Directors with CVC’s CAO
Back Row (left to right): Matt Mahoney, City of Mississauga, Johanna Downey, Town of Caledon, Micheal Palleschi, City of Brampton, Deborah Martin-Downs, CAO, Grant Peters, Town of Orangeville, Tom Nevills, Township of East Garafraxa, Ann Lawlor, Town of Halton Hills
Front Row (left to right): Stephen Dasko, City of Mississauga, Tom Adam, Town of Oakville, Karen Ras, City of Mississauga, Martin Medeiros, City of Brampton and Ron Starr, City of Mississauga.
Absent: John Brennan, Town of Erin

Media Contact
Jamie Williams
Specialist, Marketing and Communications
Credit Valley Conservation
905-670-1615 ext. 285
[email protected]

Scroll to Top