Credit Valley Conservation (CVC) will begin reconstructing the terrace feature at Belfountain Conservation Area on June 29, after receiving approval from its Board of Directors on June 12. CVC regularly monitors the structural integrity of the terrace and other park infrastructure. Deteriorating conditions led to its closure in 2014 for health and safety reasons.

The construction contract was awarded to Sunshine Design and Construction, after CVC received a number of competitive bids.

The terrace and other features at the conservation area are known for their historical significance and cultural heritage value. CVC has been working with heritage architecture firm, George Robb Architect, to develop a plan to reconstruct the terrace’s 100-year-old retaining walls, restore public access and add new accessibility enhancements.

Reconstruction will take place ahead of the Belfountain Management Plan due to health and safety concerns. CVC hopes to complete reconstruction before fall, barring any unforeseen circumstances or weather-related delays.

On the evening of June 12, just hours after reconstruction was approved, portions of the terrace’s retaining wall collapsed due to June’s heavy rains. The area around the terrace was already closed to visitors but CVC immediately added additional protective measures as a precaution. The retaining wall failure, while unfortunate, will have minimal impact on the planned reconstruction.

For more information, contact CVC’s Jesse DeJager at [email protected]. Visit for information on the Belfountain Management Plan.

Image of the terrace prior to its closure and how it will look once it’s reconstructed and restored.

Conservation authorities are a provincial/municipal partnership. For 60 years, Credit Valley Conservation has worked with its partners to support a thriving environment that protects, connects and sustains us. Credit Valley Conservation gratefully acknowledges financial support from our member municipalities for facilities, programs and services: the Regions of Peel and Halton; the Cities of Mississauga and Brampton; the Towns of Caledon, Erin, Halton Hills, Mono, Oakville and Orangeville; and the Townships of Amaranth and East Garafraxa. CVC is a member of Conservation Ontario.


Media Contact
Baljit Sharma
Marketing & Communications Specialist
Credit Valley Conservation
905-670-1615 ext. 224
[email protected]

Scroll to Top