Last month we celebrated the environmental achievements of community members at our annual Friends of the Credit Conservation Awards. The event recognizes the leadership and commitment of people who work to improve the environment.

At this year’s ceremony, we honoured 22 recipients in four categories: Certificate of Merit, Conservation Award of Distinction, Young Conservationist and Conservation Award of Excellence. It was a night full of inspiration, laughter and recognition of those who have gone above and beyond.

For our staff and Board of Directors, the Conservation Awards is an opportunity to celebrate and offer a heartfelt thank you. For more than 20 years, we have recognized individuals, landowners, community groups, small businesses, corporations, municipalities and agencies that have made a significant environmental contribution in the Credit River watershed.

This year’s recipients all had one goal in mind: restore and protect the natural environment in their community.  They participated in tree plantings, incorporated low impact development on their properties and worked to educate and promote environmental awareness. They impacted our future in a positive way.  Hats off to this year’s wonderful award recipients. It was an honour and a privilege to work with you.

2014 Award recipients (2) small

Award recipients included:

Certificate of Merit:
Alpha Phi Omega Mississauga Alumni Association
City of Mississauga Council
Don and Karen McClellan
Eric and Gillian Mileham
Freeman Associates -Tracy Patterson
Hewlett Packard (HP)
India Rainbow Community Services of Peel
Margy de Gruchy
Richard and Jami Cook
Shane and Marnie Baghai
Streetsville School Environmental Club
The Co-operators General Insurance Company
Upper Credit Field Naturalists Club

Conservation Award of Distinction:
1st Erindale Scout Group
John Nemeth and Alex Sales, Region of Peel
Rosemary Keenan
Alton Public School
Geoff and Shanna Maltby
City of Mississauga Corporate Services Department, Facilities and Property Management

Young Conservationist:
Volunteering Peel
Justin Bateman

Conservation Award of Excellence:
Marolyn Morrison

Scroll to Top