About the Organization

Credit River at Meadowvale Conservation Area in the winter

Established in 1954, Credit Valley Conservation (CVC) is one of 36 Conservation Authorities in Ontario with a mandate to ensure Ontario’s water, land and natural habitats are conserved, restored and responsibly managed through watershed-based programs.

The majority of CVC’s funding comes from its member municipalities: Region of Halton, Region of Peel, City of Brampton, City of Mississauga, Town of Caledon, Town of Erin, Town of Halton Hills, Town of Mono, Town of Oakville, Town of Orangeville, Township of Amaranth and Township of East Garafraxa.  Councillors from these municipalities are appointed to CVC’s Board of Directors, with representation based on population. Other funds come from a variety of donors and grants.